Bugs of BBB


#21

Yes, that is what happens currently. We could change it though. What had you expected would happen?


#22

Make possible that the Buccaneers walk from a settlement to another?


#23

Well there is a ballooner there, perhaps the new ship could be build above the settlement!


#24

Currently, I don’t think Ballooners can skip over a settlement during normal movement, but it could be an easy to implement solution.

To answer Penny’s question, I had expected the new ship to be created on a nearby tile reachable by Ballooner. I suppose I did wonder what would happen, but I didn’t think I’d lose the Buccaneers.

Perhaps the simplest solution could be to alter the map? The 2-player map is the only one with any land-locked grasslands, isn’t it? Might not be worth the effort to change the code for one weird case?


#25

Looks like I had just never tried it! Ballooners can travel over settlements, in addition to forests and mines.


#26

Yes, they can travel over your own settlements, but will still attack enemy settlements if ordered towards them.

We could do a once off build on top of the settlement, so you can get the Buccaneers out. It might be a bit confusing if you can’t build ships in there after that. You could build a ship on top of the settlement, but not move it off unless you have a Ballooner on board. I think I’d prefer that as a rule, rather than a once off exception.


#27

What about allowing the option to hire buccaneers at Settlements, or at least only allow Ballooners to be hired at Settlements? That way you can have a ballooner sitting there ready for you to build a ship and fly off to wage war on the open seas.


#28

I don’t think it’s worth a one-off for just this game. It’s a 2-player game and there should only be 2 or 3 turns left. It’s just something I noticed and thought I should report.


#29

I was thinking a one-off for each settlement that is in that situation. If there’s a Ballooner there, it will create a flying ship above the settlement. I think it’s too much of a weird/specific exception though.


#30

How is it possible? Will the ship move for 4 hexes?


#31

It’s allowed to have two Pointers when the ship name contains the word “Express” :wink:


#32

Yikes, this one is for @IHG-BlightedPea to look at!


#33

Did you hire 2, smuggle them, or did it just suddenly start showing 2 Pointers @JeanRenard?


#34

No, I conquered the settlement where the AI had two of them.


#35

Could this happen if you smuggle a buccaneer you already have?


#36

No, when you had that Buccaneer they melt in one entity :smiley:


#37

Thanks! It must be a bug in what the AI is doing. Smugglers only get buccaneers that aren’t already on the ship.


#38

What happened? Auto-smuggling? I didn’t smuggle anything?


#39

Hmm interesting. Maybe from a Settlement you attacked and then captured? Do you know if it was from a ship or settlement?


#40

Surely a ship! You should know well this match :smiley: