New Game Idea

##preface
I wasn’t entirely sure if a) this was the place to post and b) if it’s appropriate to post here but figure I can post and ask for forgiveness.

I have been playing NP since version 1. I love the simplicity, game mechanics, etc. Kuddos to @JayKyburz for all he’s made.

As a developer myself, I’ve long wanted to make my own game. I’ve tried going it alone in the past, only to end up building tools for other developers to use to build their own games (e.g. as3IsoLib > Farmville). So this dream of creating a game of my own has thus far is still a dream. I think the problem is that I am going solo on such an endeavor. So I am reaching out here to see if there are any creative and developer folks who might want to create another game.

the idea

I like lists so…

• Well I’m a hard-scifi junky. So it’s obviously about space.
  • 4x-ish
  • turn-based w/ time limits
  • possibly multi-player but solo for sure
  • high-level strategy & diplomacy
  • mobile-first

As for the tech I would be focusing on:

• browser based
  • responsive design (mobile, tablet and desktop friendly layouts)
  • haven’t a clue about the backend

next steps

Obviously discussing it here is a big component, but also getting it beyond talk and start fleshing out ideas. Are there any takers?

Ahoy.

What would you like people to help with specifically?

Me, I know very little about backend, but I’m pretty good at feedback and enjoy writing those little bit of text and backstory you might need. Loved doing it for Jay.

I myself am a developer and like yourself have always wanted to make a game, however my interests deviate somewhat from the genre.

I’m a big fan of Endless Space. I only mention this because it’s the only 4X game I’ve played, other than Triton, with an almost pure node-based layout. Other games I have played in the genre use either 2D maps linked by paths, or fully 2D grids. What type of game layout would the proposed game use?