Bouncer Effect: Misunderstanding on my part?

First game here, only on the 4th turn. So bear with me, I’m totally new :smile:

I hired a Bouncer on my ship. I used that ship to attack a settlement. The settlement APPEARS to have attacked first in the replay, but maybe it was the defensive return fire shown out-of-order. Anyways, when it shot me, the damage was not bounced anywhere, I just took 2 damage.

Is it a “sometimes” effect? Does it not work against return-fire? Or against attacks from land? Or when it says “a random adjacent hex”, does that potentially include my hex (i.e., a backfire or failure?) I’m confused and I want to make sure I understand it before I continue my attack and risk losing the fight.