Massed Eldermages

Hello fellow Zombie hunters.

I’m very new to the game so please bear with me if I’m barking up the wrong tree. But I’m also aware that the game is in development and might suffer from play balance issues. I want to discuss what I think is one such issue.

In my first multiplayer game, Celestial pools, one player has more or less won the game single handed in less than a day:

As you can see Qpona has a deck made almost exclusively of Mage cards. This turns the Eldermages into mana volcanoes (5 mana per Mage within 3 leagues)! And in turn the High Elves become nukers extraordinaire when you have a mana pool approaching 1000 mana.

Now, I’m not at all trying to discredit Qpona here. He/She’s found a very cool way of using the mages to full potential! But it’s overpowered. The game is over after less than a day, now it’s just a matter of waiting while the nukes fall.

Being so new to the game I can’t claim to have ideas on on how to fix this. I’ll leave that discussion to those more experienced, I don’t even know half the cards in the game! But I think it’s important to think of some refunding opportunity or similar if cards are severely nerfed. You shouldn’t be punished for being clever :wink:

Thanks for such a great game, I’m having so much fun!

Cheers,
/Grond

Qpona has spent a LOT of money on Blight! Getting that many Eldermages is no small feat.

I would love to see a bit of a lateral on Eldermages’ powers – perhaps linking their mana generation to the number of forests in a given area rather than the number of mages (so its not scalable). Or make the Eldermages’ mana generation on a percentage chance for success – like Gold/Crystal miners.

Oh crap Qpona… They’re on to us! (Well mostly you, I don’t have that kind of eldermage power yet)

/Obliviate

Elves have been great at generating mana for some time now.

I believe Jay already has an item on his Trello board for nerfing the Eldermage.

1 Like