Advice for newbie - circular galaxy 12 players

Hi all,

I’m rather new to the game, playing a dark Triton game with 12 players and circular galaxy, homestar distance close . I am wondering how the galaxy might look and how I have therefore to act.

From the pictures on Neptune's Pride I conclude that in an 8 players game there is not a significant hole in the center, but in the 32 players game there is. In an 8 players game I think I have the option not to fight my two neighbours, but ally with them and expand toward the center. In an 32 players game it seems the only way is to defeat one of them and continue long the ring.

Can anybode help with some advice? Thank’s.

If the setting “star scatter” is twin rings, then there can be a significant hole in the center, and you would need to expand along the galactic circle. You may need to ally or NAP with one neighbor, and fight the other one.

If the setting “star scatter” is random scatter, then there will be a number of stars in the center to fill in the hole. By researching scanning & HR, you will eventually find a path through the center of the galaxy to the other side. If you choose your alliances wisely, then you can reduce duplication of research effort.

Thank you for the help.

The setting star scatter is random, but HR is locked at 5. Maybe with the intention to block that option of going through the center ( (homestar distance is close).

Starting distance = close is 8 LY between HW.
12 player circular galaxy arranges HWs into a Dodecagon with diameter of 30.91 LY.

Carriers may jump LY distance = 3 + tech lvl HR.

HR 5 = carriers may jump 8 LY.
In a dark galaxy, to take full advantage of HR5, you will need to research Scanning 6.
Scanning 6 = allows stars to scan 8 LY.

In a dark galaxy, you need scanning tech to be able to see stars at LY distances = 2 + tech lvl scanning.

If you are unable to see a star, then you will be unable to select that star as a destination for your carrier.