Allying and attacking at start of game

Hello,

I recently started playing Neptune’s Pride with a friend, its been a blast. We like to discuss strategy and how we are approaching our games.

Recently, in a game I had, I allied with a couple of neighbours right from the start, and around 3-4 days in the game we attacked from both sides and wiped out one of our mutual neighbours.

My friend found that terrible. He called people who do that fascists, and the tactic disgusting. We ruined that guy’s game because we decided to attack him after seeing he wasn’t gonna join us. I have received over 100+ messages of how terrible this is. My reply is simply “welcome to Neptune’s Pride, this is how this game is played”. He refuses to listen, and tells me you should have the balls and fight 1v1.

My question is, how often do you gang up on someone from the first turns? Do you usually wait it out? Do you find such reactions normal? I am really at a loss on what to reply lol.

That’s pretty normal. I wouldn’t see that as a significant issue. What game type was this? Private games are different than public games though and sometimes different behavior is expected. But unless the game creator expressly asked for that to not occur, you seem to be within your rights there. There’s nothing in np that encourages 1v1 gameplay. The whole trade thing specifically sets up cooperation. The entire game is essentially a bisection or capitalism… doing good things to benefit myself kinda thing…

The problem some people have is allying before they join a game. It’s hard not to do once you’ve got buddies in lots of games. But a healthy np friendship should have two players be allies and enemies in different games. Also, it seems wrong to give the victory to one player so they’ll support you in the next game type of stuff.