Question about tech

I’m a newbie player, and I just started yesterday! I’m having trouble deciding which tech I should get. Which technology is best for the first week? I’m playing the newcomer’s map, too.

Experimentation and Weapons? Maybe. Also whatever you get first experimentation bonus.

Other opinions?

WHAT

I love banking for the early game. Experimentation can also be good. Scanning is very useful in dark games and even more in turn based dark games. This also depends highly on strategy (see below section), it can make sense to just research what you experimented in. This is also affected by tech trades, if someone else already has a tech it can make sense to just buy it even when you have partially researched it.

Weapons can be very useful iff you are seriously blocked in and need to immediately fight. HR (Hyperspace Range) is similarly useful in niche situations where you could expand iff you had it.

I never prioritise Scanning in non-dark games. Likewise I would not go for Manu(facturing) or Terra(forming). Weapons is better than Manu if you need to fight right away. Banking is better than Terra for early game because you will probably not be building on low resource systems.

HOW

I’ve got two strategies for starting games. Both give first tech before end of cycle 2. The important thing is to get over ~3.064 research points per tick (in normal 24 tick cycles), which almost always means a mean of 3.5.