Strategy Discussion

Just starting a spot for some discussion. Strategy on where to invest $, at what point, etc. are common discussion themes. Perhaps we can create some tips for new users and/or generate discussion here… Maybe later a new users thread can be started and stickied…

Economy -> Money -> Industry -> Ships -> Stars -> Victory.

That’s the key to most of my victories. I’ve lost a few games with this strategy, but if you get a head start, taking you 1-on-1 is going to be hard later on. The important thing is not to stand out before you are invincible to regular threats.

I’ve also seen that you can’t get too far out in front too fast, otherwise you’re just a target.

I agree with @MattS about the target thing. I am fairly new to the game (caveat!), but I have found being the 1st or 2nd to get a lvl 2 tech means u get a head start on trading, which has whole slews of advantages. I’ve won by focusing on science, but keeping a healthy dose of econ going as well.

In my opinion no single strategy will work. It greatly depends on the players playing at the time. The only thing I have observed is that if you fall behind in tech you will almost certainly get attacked. Always be at a decent tech position, especially weapons.

Once the rules and mechanics of the game are understood, this is where the rubber meets the road. Good strategy is like a good fishing location: people are not inclined to share the knowledge publicly, lest it lose its value.

@Ernomouse, from a strictly military standpoint your progression is sufficient, but it does not take into account science/technology or diplomacy, which are also very important factors in achieving victory. Your following statement is intriguing. How does one get a head start without standing out before being invincible to regular threats?