What to do while beginning a game

So I’m somewhat new to this game, however I have played in a couple of worlds and I’m simply thinking about what to do toward the beginning of the game. Would it be a good idea for me to zero in on economy,industry or science? I generally research Experimentation, is seriously mind-blowing? Are there any systems to us so I will get an early advantage yet won’t be a significant objective for every other person.

It does somewhat depend on situation, but there are a few good choices and a few that rarely make sense.

First on your spending patterns… it is rarely worth investing much in industry early on, the extra ships you get will rarely if ever make a difference. Some people like to go full econ on the first prod to give them an income boost and that’s a valid strategy. An alternative is to prioritise science to try and guarantee a tech before 2nd production: to do so you’d need to start with at least 3 science and go up to at least 5 (timing matters) before end of first prod. Generally going very high science only makes sense if you have some close by and very nice stars to build the extra science on, and you should calculate it because this is only a good strategy if it lets you hit exp at an earlier prod. Something in between the two is also possible (e.g. starting with 2 science going up to 3/4) and can be good, especially as it will allow you to capitalise on your first experimentation roll if it’s useful. I usually go the balanced route in 64p.