Why is my production lagging?

Hey veteran NP players!

I guess I’m relatively new to NP- I’ve been playing for a few months and have maybe 15 games under my belt and a few wins. While I think I’ve got a decent grasp of game strategy, here’s a piece that I haven’t been able to crack:

I usually have a strong early-game presence, but no matter what I do, after mid-game and especially at end-game, my Economy, Industry, and Science numbers are always way behind the rest of the galaxy. I start strong, but then get passed by, and can’t compete in any of those three realms when it starts to really matter.

I’ve tried leading investing heavily in one of the three areas exclusively to see if that would pay off down the road. After trying each one, I found that not only could I not keep up in the other two realms, but I was still falling behind in the area I was focusing all my resources in.

I’ve tried a balanced approach, but ended up with the same result, and I’ve tried to win my industry and science through conquest, thinking that was the missing link. Still nothing. I’m getting frustrated with myself that I can’t figure out where I’ve gone wrong- does anyone see what it is that I’m missing?

Thanks for any input!

without seeing what you are doing it’s hard to tell what you are doing wrong. sometimes it’s just the luck (or lack of it) of the draw. some people are in very good starting positions and others are in terrible ones.

tip. save your money for economy and don’t spend it until just before production. that way you have more worlds to spend it on and you get more for your cash.

Are you sending diplomatic messages to the other players ?
making any alliances ?
trading technology with other players or AI ?
Are you using the combat calculator to help predict battle results ?

@Praxus,